What is your legacy?

As I type this post, I’m listening to the Sounds of Saturday’s at the Mason House!

Avenger’s Series playing in the background; Hubby’s lunch simmering on the stove; a “cough-cough” from our very own Doctor Mason (HAM); feet running to get back in the tub, because that’s where she was already supposed to be (TMM)…

All the while, the thought that is running through my mind is: “Tawana, what is the legacy you intend to leave behind?” Rest assured, I don’t plan on going anywhere any time soon, however, the reality is that no one lives forever. Tomorrow is not guaranteed. Therefore, it is our responsibility to nurture each moment with care.

IMG_6222

When I think about my two daughters and their God-Sisters and  God-Brothers and their parents, aunties, uncles, brothers, sisters, cousins and friends all I can say is “God is good!”

We are family. Regardless of the biological DNA, there is a very real spiritual DNA that links our lives.

The legacy that I hope to leave behind to my children and my children’s children is one of hope, faith, preparedness, mindfulness, leadership, integrity, wealth, humility, discernment, and love.

With that being said, I am a strong subscriber to the adage “It takes a village to raise a child.” This is our season to rebuild that which may be broken, purge that which may no longer be needed, and mend that which may be torn or ragged.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Jeremiah 29:11

 

2 thoughts on “What is your legacy?

  1. Yes, now this is some word of wisdom. I especially want to highlight on how you can have nonbiological family. One of my friends is like my extended family. Her family welcomes me with open arms as well. Sometime your “real” family is free greatest strangers.

    As far as making my mark. I’m just wanting for god’s grace. I know it will come. And when it does, it’ll be right for me. Can’t be in a rush to change the world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

