Time to Activate

There comes a point [better yet, several points] in which we all know it’s time to make a change. Not the sort of change that pulls you to the cosmetic counters or prompts you to visit the hair stylist. Significant, life-altering decisions that IF they had a sign would read “One Way” because there is no turning back.

Over the past several years, I’ve been extremely fortunate to work with and for women who have inspired and encouraged me to live out loud; reach for the stars! However, it has only been within the past 3-4 months that those seeds of possibility have started to sprout.

A little over a week ago I was watching an interview with Gwyneth Paltrow on CBS. Outside of the fact that I love her character on Iron Man, I was intrigued by the title of her company, Goop. During the interview, she isn’t able to articulate the “why” as to halting her career in film making, but I love the how. “Goop started as an accident,” Paltrow says. She was home, taking a break from acting, with her kids. {Let that marinate}

#Privilege #NoShade #MeToo #WhyNot #Motivation

Okay, so fast forward to tonight [which is now last night because I’ve yet to push publish] and I find myself on the TED Talks website and I happen to view two videos: (1) Jessica Shortall and Paid Family Leave, (2) Tim Urban , inside the mind of a master procrastinator. Coincidence? I think not!

I am convinced, now more than ever, that there is indeed a void. Yes, I am given to inspiration and can look past the colorless, gender-less, ageless, faithless lines. However, for my daughters and their peers I am concerned as to what the “new normal” may be.

Yes, we give honor to whom honor is due and I am forever grateful for Mrs. Harriet Tubman (1822-1913)*. What I fear is that the history behind her story; the life she fought to free her people from will be reincarnated because we perish for a lack of knowledge.

Hence, the title: Time to Activate – prior knowledge, experiences, choices, and reflections toward goal-setting, planning, and doing!

“The way to activate the seeds of your creation is by making choices about the results you want to create. When you make a choice, you activate vast human energies and resources, which otherwise go untapped.” Robert Fritz

*Wiki_4.23.16

 

One thought on “Time to Activate

Leave a Reply

